Cisco unveils security specialist training and certifications

Cisco introduced new Security Specialist certifications to recognize individuals who have attained specific competencies critical to meeting demand for network security skills that align with evolving job roles, technologies and business requirements.

The increasing complexity of network security responsibilities with mobility, social networking, voice, video, virtualization, cloud computing and physical safety and security requirements is driving greater specialization and advanced skills on the products that facilitate these solutions, including virtual private networks, firewalls, authentication and intrusion prevention.

According to a recent survey of the Cisco CCIE community, security and risk management will be the networking skills in greatest demand by businesses over the next five years.

Recently, Cisco enhanced its Security portfolio with the introduction of the CCNP Security career certification program, which specifically addresses the growing demand for network security engineers.

Cisco Security Specialist certifications complement these industry-recognized Security career certifications by focusing on skills assessment for critical product and technology areas. The new certifications enable individuals to earn specialist recognition while achieving a professional certification. They may also function as part of a professional development plan involving continued education or recertification.

New Security Specialist Certifications

The Cisco Firewall Security Specialist certification recognizes security professionals with the skills to design, implement and maintain Cisco security appliance solutions, using the Cisco ASA adaptive security appliance and zone-based firewall solutions.

The Cisco IOS Security Specialist certification recognizes security professionals who demonstrate the hands-on knowledge and skills that are required to secure networks, using Cisco IOS Security features embedded in the latest Cisco routers and switches as well as the widely deployed Cisco security appliances.

The Cisco VPN Security Specialist certification recognizes security professionals with the skills and knowledge to configure, maintain, troubleshoot and support various VPN solutions, using Cisco IOS Software and the robust Cisco ASA adaptive security appliance.

The Cisco Security certification portfolio now supports six key technologies with certifications for these Security Specialists:

  • Cisco IPS Specialist
  • Cisco NAC Specialist
  • Cisco ASA Specialist
  • Cisco IOS Security Specialist
  • Cisco Firewall Security Specialist
  • Cisco VPN Security Specialist.
More about

Don't miss