(ISC)2 names finalists for 2009 U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards

(ISC)2 announced the final nominees for its sixth annual Government Information Security Leadership Awards (GISLAs). The GISLAs are awarded annually to individuals who have significantly enhanced the information security workforce by demonstrating a leadership role in any information security workforce improvement initiative, program or project on either a government-wide or agency-specific basis.

The 2009 (ISC)2 GISLA Program, part of (ISC)2’s global awards program, recognizes four winners, one from each of the following categories: Senior Non-Information Security Managers, Senior Information Security Managers, Non-Managerial Information Security Professionals and Federal Contractor Information Security Professionals. As the industry’s premier award distinction, the GISLA program attracts a broad pool of candidates spanning U.S. federal civilian and U.S. Department of Defense agencies. This year’s finalists include:

Category: Non-Managerial Information Security Professional

  • Bobby Akins, CISSP, MSCE, Security +, Network +, ITIL V3 Foundations, network integrator, U.S. Air Force Engineering and Technical Services (AFETS), U.S. Air Force
  • Karyn Higa-Smith, program manager, identity management tools, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Command, Control and Interoperability Division
  • T. Sgt. Shannon Haygood, Security +, non-commissioned officer in charge, information assurance, U.S. Air Force, 754th Electronic Systems Group, Operations Division.

Category: Senior Non-Information Security Manager

  • Cecille Jones, director, Wage & Investment Business Systems Planning Division, U.S. Internal Revenue Service
  • Erin Finkes, director of workforce development, Defense Contract Management Agency
  • Lori Roberts, CAP, PMP, program manager, Wage & Investment Security Program Management Office, U.S. Internal Revenue Service.

Category: Senior Information Security Manager

  • Austin Pearson, CISSP, PMP, information assurance program manager, U.S. Army Combined Arms Center, U.S. Army
  • Stanley Joseph Jarzombek, Jr., CSSLP, PMP, director of software assurance, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, National Cyber Security Division
  • Patrick D. Howard, CISSP, CISM, chief information security officer and director computer security office, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Category: Federal Contractor Information Security Professional

  • John Bagladi, senior information technology security project manager, Alpha Protective Services/Advanced Resources Technologies Incorporated (APS/ARTI), LLC
  • John Stewart, vice president and chief security officer, Cisco Systems
  • Margaret Spanninger, senior associate, Booz Allen Hamilton.

“The federal information security community is facing a significant transition as the new Presidential Administration and legislative reform re-define the nation’s strategy to secure cyber space, with a key focus on attracting, retaining, and educating cyber security experts in the federal government,” says Lynn McNulty, CISSP, (ISC)2’s director of government affairs. “It is a crucial time to acknowledge those who are already working in and with government — those who represent pillars that will fortify and sustain the future federal security workforce infrastructure.”

Each year, a nominations committee within (ISC)2’s U.S. Government Advisory Board for Cyber Security (GABCS), reviews the nominees and recommends finalists based upon its selection criteria and eligibility requirements. Members of the GABCS also select the four GISLA winners from the identified categories of nominees.

Don't miss