Microsoft Security Update Guide

The Microsoft Security Update Guide was designed to help IT professionals better understand and use Microsoft security release information, processes, communications, and tools.

In this guide, you will find a convenient glossary of terms, an overview of the Microsoft Security Bulletin process, and a stage-by-stage review of Microsoft Security Updates.

It is organized according to the following stages of the security update process:

  • Stage 1, Receive Microsoft Security Release Communications
  • Stage 2, Evaluate Risk
  • Stage 3, Evaluate Mitigation
  • Stage 4, Standard or Urgent Update Deployment Timeline
  • Stage 5, Monitor Systems, and; Ongoing Stage, Watch.

Each section outlines the purpose and objective for that stage, as well as the expected target outcomes upon that stage’s completion.

Don't miss