Phishers exploit Facebook Timeline hate

Many Facebook users have still not reconciled themselves to the fact that the Timeline profile is here to stay, and this makes them prefect targets for scammers.

According to Symantec researchers, a phishing site has recently popped up recommending to users a fake application that purportedly allows them to revert back to the old profile look:

“The phishing site embedded the Facebook Timeline promotion video from YouTube, with the claim ‘Remove Timeline Now’,” say the researchers. “According to this phishing site, users will have their ‘Timeline’ removed from their Facebook profile and get back their old profile page – only after they enter their login credentials.”

The phishers have also added the logo of a well-known AV solution at the bottom of the page, intimating that the app in question (or is it the page?) is “protected” and safe to use.

Unfortunately, those who have fallen for the scam and have entered their Facebook credentials have opened their account and everything in it to the scammers.




Share this