Fake Facebook account deletion warnings target users

An email supposedly sent by the Facebook Team warning users about them having violated the social network’s policies is currently hitting inboxes around the world:

LAST WARNING : Your account is reported to have violated the policies that are considered annoying or insulting Facebook users. Until we system will disable your account within 24 hours if you do not do the reconfirmation.

Please confirm your account below:

[Link Removed]

Thanks.
The Facebook Team
Copyright facebook © 2011 Inc. All rights reserved.

The offered link takes the potential victim to a phishing page mimicking a Facebook page, and asks them to divulge a lot of crucial personal and financial information:

Once the victim has completed this form, he is faced with two other forms. The first asks for the user’s webmail login credentials, and the other (again) for the first six digits and the type of his credit card.

The damage to the user who falls for this scheme is multiple: he gets his Facebook and his email account hijacked by scammers who use it to lure in more victims, and the divulged information about the credit card can be used to conduct fraudulent activities, warns Hoax-Slayer.

Similar emails warning users of their account being accessed from a new location and possibly compromised follow the same pattern.

Users are advised to ignore messages such as these and to login into Facebook by accessing the login page directly through their browsers (via a bookmark or by typing in the Facebook main URL) if they need to reassure themselves that their accounts won’t be suspended or deleted.